FCA logo

Innovations in Alzheimer’s Caregiving Awards

With support from The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation and the Bader Philanthropies, Inc., Family Caregiver Alliance is pleased to oversee the annual Innovations in Alzheimer’s Caregiving Awards program.

Application and Timeline

The application period typically opens each year during September and closes in October. The awards are announced by the end of December.

Review the online application form.

Award Recipients (2008-2022)

Join us in celebrating these community-based organizations for their innovative work.

Awards Details

One award of $20,000 will be given in each of the following three categories:

Creative Expression

Programs or projects that use novel, creative approaches to support persons with Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias and their family/informal caregivers. Examples include art, music, theater, poetry, multimedia (e.g. film, documentary, radio), or technology used for creative engagement or other types of creative expression.

Diverse/Multicultural Communities

Programs or projects that address a gap or chart a new way to deliver services, support, or outreach to family/informal caregivers of persons with Alzheimer’s disease or related dementias in diverse racial/ethnic, age, religious/spiritual, LGBTQ+, rural/remote, limited income, and other groups of caregivers with unique needs.

Public Policy

Programs or projects that advocate for policy or systems changes for the benefit of persons with Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias and/or their family/informal caregivers. These efforts could focus on legislation, executive or administrative changes, media or public awareness campaigns, advocacy campaigns, or any other actions to strengthen public or private recognition and support of family/informal caregivers.


In the recent past, The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation undertook a review of issues facing caregivers of adults with Alzheimer’s disease. In June 2007, the Foundation published an expert panel discussion report, Strengthening Caregiving for Alzheimer’s Disease, which outlined promising practices, research recommendations, and key principles for caregiver support. It is against this backdrop that the Rosalinde Gilbert Innovations in Alzheimer’s Disease Caregiving Legacy Awards program was initiated. The program promotes the reports’ principles—and innovation in the field of Alzheimer’s disease caregiving—by recognizing and rewarding organizations that lead the way in addressing the needs of Alzheimer’s caregivers. In 2018, the 11th year of the program, the Bader Philanthropies, Inc. joined as a funding partner as reflected in the new name — Innovations in Alzheimer’s Caregiving Awards.

Eligibility and Submissions

Who can apply and information about the review process.

Award FAQs

Additional information about the awards and application process.

Award Partnership

These awards are made possible through our valued partnerships.